21 February 2018

8 Ender in the Crookedstone Trophy

Bob Parry, John Adkin, Ian Fleming skip and Eileen Fleming with their magnificent 8 end !
The unfortunate opposition Skip can be seen lurking to the right of the picture.

6 February 2018

2018 Mixed Weekend Winners

After another very successful Mixed Weekend the winners were the rink skipped by Keith Prentice who narrowly defeated Ken Horton's team in a very close final
Anne Anderson lead, Gwen Prentice 3rd, Drew Moffat presenting, Keith Prentice skip and Robert Anderson 2nd

28 December 2017

Yett Trophy 2017

The 39th family competition for the Yett Trophy once again provided fun and entertainment for all the families involved. There was no shortage of skill on display, from the very young to the not so young !
As normal there was a prize for the youngest boy and girl competitor. This year both were in prizewinning teams - Lindsey Haggart aged 11 in the Runner-up team and Findlay Rutherford aged just 8 in the 3rd place team.
Winners Michael McReadie lead, Andrew Neilson 3rd, Daisy Neilson 2nd and Aileen Neilson skip

Runners-up Gillian Haggart 2nd, Lindsey Haggart lead, Alan Turner 3rd and David Haggart skip

Third Place Gary Rutherford skip, David Rutherford 3rd, Findlay Rutherford lead and Fiona Rutherford 2nd

Lanarkshire Ice Rink are once again indebted to the Smith family and, in particular Bryce Smith for all the effort put in to make this competition such a success, and also Iain Buchanan for arranging substitutes from the Junior Club.

13 December 2017

Lanarkshire Farmers Trophy 2017

Twenty four teams contested this years Farmers Trophy which was, once again generously sponsored by CF Fertilizers and Galloway & MacLeod.

The Low Road Final was between John Trainer and three time Farmers Trophy Winner, Hugh Neilson. After 4 ends Neilson led by 3 shots to 2. A score of 3 to Trainer in the fifth hinted at an upset. The Neilson team rallied however with 4 shots in the 6th end and finished 10 - 5 winners.
Hugh Neilson skip, Don Frame 3rd, Alan Neilson lead and Jamie Allan 2nd.
Andrew Clark 2nd, Doug Telfer lead, Kerr Findlay 3rd and John Trainer skip

The High Road Final saw Drew Moffat's team skipped by Robert Kirkland take on James Tait who had son Robert throwing last stones. In the Knock-out Drew had beaten Ice Rink Directors Bryce Smith and Ian Fleming to reach the final while James had beaten the highly fancied Robbie Stevenson from Fife and Andy Hemming from Stirling.
At the half way point Tait led by 5 shots to 2. Kirkland then rallied scoring 2 in the fifth then taking singles in the next two ends to lead by 6 shots to 5 after 7 ends. Tait was forced to take 1 shot in the eighth leaving Kirkland with the hammer in the extra end. On the hack with that stone he faced one shot. Sadly his attempt to remove it over curled, missed the target and left James the winner. It had been a really good final with some great shots by both teams.
Isobel Tait lead, Alison Paterson 2nd, Robert Tait 4th and James Tait 3rd and skip
Robert Kirkland skip, Andrew Neilson 3rd, Drew Moffat 2nd and Libby Marshall lead

Lanarkshire Ice Rink would like to thank both CF Fertilizers and Galloway & MacLeod for their continued sponsorship of this very enjoyable competition

Clydesdale Sports Council Winners

Winners of the recent Clydesdale Sports Council Championship were Douglas Curling Club
Kerr Findlay, Ian Fleming, Johan Steele presenting, Bert Carswell and Peter Gemmill

24 October 2017

Henderson Bishop Qualifiers

Winners of the 2017 Henderson Bishop Qualifiers
Marion Craig, Margaret Richardson skip, Alison Taylor and Audrey King

Runners Up
Morag Sandilands, Vera Anderson, Vera Shearer and Margaret Moffat skip.

23 September 2017

The Ice Rink’s 50th Anniversary Bash

The curling season got off to a great start with a wonderful 50th Anniversary Celebration Day held on Saturday, September 16th.

Three curling sessions were held – each game being 6 ends long with stacked broom at close of end 3 so that all participants could enjoy a wee Clyde Steamer. Curling was held at 11 am, 1 pm and 3 pm.
After the games everybody enjoyed a magnificent buffet dinner in the Restaurant.

The official, and main, event of the day was the cutting of the cake by Alex Torrance.  This was followed by the throwing of the first stone by Meg Allan with Aileen Neilson holding the brush while Hazel Smith and Jay Wilson duly swept the stone.  Meg delivered a magnificent stone as it landed on the pot lid!  Chairman, Jimmy Raeburn gave a warm speech and was duly surprised himself when he was presented with a lovely decanter and glasses in appreciation of his Chairmanship for the past 23 years.

Approximately 200 people attended the Anniversary Bonspiel either to watch or to curl and to enjoy the hospitality – everybody left with a souvenir glass.  The ice rink itself was beautifully decorated with a wonderful display of vintage photographs covering many decades – this brought back such lovely memories to many people.

“Thank you” to the Directors and Committee members for organising such a good day.  A big” thank you” must also go to the numerous sponsors for helping to make this such a memorable day.

As for LIR – well, here’s to the next 50 years.

Anne Hood - President

For a photographic record of the day, click here